Posted by: Amanda Taylor | May 5, 2012

Hit The Road Jack!

On my 11th birthday, I was at a dirt track with my family and I won a bicycle.  I remember being incredibly embarrassed as my mom practically pushed me onto this muddy racetrack.

I didn’t know how to ride a bike! Let alone a 10 speed huge bike!  I preferred my hot-wheels.  Just saying.  I was always left out when the neighborhood kids would ride into the woods, or ride around the neighborhood super fast.  I would just park my powerwheel by my play house and play dolls instead.

When I won the bike, I decided I should probably get over my fears and learn how to ride.  Thanks to my neighbor and second mom, Mrs. Karen, I rode around all day with her letting go of me and me continually falling over.  I must have been a sight, thinking back on it now. I mean, I imagine little kiddos learning how to ride bikes.  Not 11 year olds on 10 speeds.

I rode 23 miles today.

It was me and the road.  No distractions, no talking, just me doing something I have absolutely fallen in love with.

In 2008, I got a hybrid.  She was fun on the trails in Clearwater.  She was very girly and very…me 🙂

After moving back to Daytona, I realized that there just aren’t many good spots to ride around on a hybrid bike here.

So, I got some type of courage and got a mountain bike.  I was going to be a tough trail rider.

Ha!  More like cry like a huge baby in the middle of a trail because I fell twice in a matter of 5 minutes.

She is currently sitting in my Papaws shed with a flat tire.  Roots, hills, and falling down aren’t really my thing!!

I really wanted to ride.  I needed some type of release/escape.  And more than anything, I wanted to give back.  To ride for a purpose, especially after hearing about Boggy Creeks Ride .  I broke down and bought a road bike and have loved every minute of it!

So, on September 8th, I am going to be riding for a purpose.  If you want to help me raise my fundraising goal to support Camp you can click here.  Just know, there are hundreds upon hundreds of kiddos that would appreciate it as well!  Riding has given me a chance to explore, de-stress, and find so much peace in life.  Now, it gives me a chance to help those kiddos that are so much stronger than me, that have such a fight that is so much harder than mine.

I’m glad I won that purple 10 speed after all…

Responses

  1. Amanda,
    I am very proud to have been a part of your growing up years! You are a very special person to me and everyone of the children that you have touched their lives in one way or another. I am so very proud of the young lady you have become. I knew you would do something with your life that included children since the beginning of Amandas daycare in the basement of the house you grew up in. You are a very sweet and caring person and I know you will succeed in life. I know you have had some heartbreaks and stressful situations but you will over come them and be a stronger person because of those trials and tribulations. Just remember GOD will only put on your plate what he knows you can handle. Pull from that inner strength that you have, jump back up and say that was a good ride! Now whats next? I love you and hope to see you soon. Mrs. Karen


Leave a Reply

Categories

