Posted by: Amanda Taylor | March 28, 2012

Dinner Date

I have never thought of myself being a super crafty person.  I have Pinterest to thank for making my condo a bit more like home and allowing me to pin things I know I’ll never do!  You can follow me here.  I have to admit, I pin some pretty amazing things.  So far, I’ve done a few recipes and have some ideas for Easter, but one of the things I was most excited about was dinner plates.

When I moved back to the condo, I had two plates and two bowls to my name.  That’s it.  It was pretty depressing.  I guess that is all I need because it is just me, but my cabinets were lacking…things. So, I found this idea on Pinterest.  She was just doing Halloween place settings but I figured I would make them my every day plate.  It’s a very easy project.

First, I got a 16 piece dinnerware set for $19.00.  The plates were all white.

Then I got porcelain markers from Michaels.  They were $9.00 for 4.  The set of all black markers were sold out, but I think I am happy that I got bright colors.

Then I had to decide what I wanted to write on them.  I first thought of my all time favorite song, “Imagine” by John Lennon.  I got blue masking tape and made straight lines.  If I messed up, the marker would come off with just a wet paper towel.  This is how my first plate turned out.

The smaller plate and bowl have the same “theme”

I then let the plates dry for 24 hours and baked them at 300 degrees for 35 minutes and now I have new dinner plates that are very “me”!

My other plates have to deal with Camp Boggy Creek, of course!

One plate has to deal with Hope and is the poem “Hope” by Emily Dickinson

And then a quote from Winne The Pooh

Overall, I love them!  I think I will smile when I see them and think of those good things that I have in my life!

So, I’m ready for dinner guests! Thanks for stoppin’ by!

Responses

  1. Too cute! I pinned this, too but I never tried it out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

