Posted by: Amanda Taylor | April 8, 2012

Easter Yummies

What would I do without Pinterest?  I’d probably bring something super boring to our family Easter get together tomorrow.  I was volunteered to bring bread.  BREAD!  My family has a lot of faith in my cooking skills!!  My Mamaw has a wonderful mexican cornbread recipe that I figured I would do.  Ha, bread…I’ll show them!   Well, I can’t find the recipe and Mamaw is in Canada so I searched the web trying to find a recipe that would be a bit like hers.  I used about a million three recipes and came out with something very delicious.  I just hope it is still good tomorrow.

Manda’s Mexican Cornbread

In a large mixing bowl or pot if you have a cruddy break up and can never seem to find any of your kitchen supplies, spices, etc mix 1 cup of melted butter.  Okay.  Wait.  About the butter.  I love Paula Deen.  I really do.  You aren’t eating the entire pan in one sitting by yourself.  Well, that’s my advice.  You will share it with people and maybe have it a couple times so the butter is split up into lots of little servings.  Okay, so back to the insane amount of melted goodness.  Mix the butter with one cup of sugar.

*Side note:  I was cooking a dessert recipe after this and accidentally mixed powder sugar instead of the other kind of sugar in. I had to start over…all that butter wasted 😦

When that is good and mixed add four eggs.  After that is mixed, drain and add a 4 oz can of diced chile peppers.  I also added about a fourth of a cup of diced bell pepper and a can of cream style corn.  Then add 1 cup of Cheddar Jack cheese.  It should look like this.

In a seperate bowl, stir together 1 cup of flour, 1 cup of yellow cornmeal, 4 teaspoons of baking powder, and a pinch of salt.  When all of that is mixed up add to your bowl.  Pour into a greased baking pan (I had a 9 x 13).

Bake at 300 degrees for 1 hour.

So, while that was baking I washed the dishes and got ready for my second meal.  This is why I love Pinterest.  I would have no clue about what else to bring so I saw an idea of Strawberry Cheesecake Bites.  Her pictures are way more appetizing than mine.  Here’s how I did them.  I got two pounds of strawberries and hollowed them out.  This was difficult. Several of them were thrown away eaten because I have never used a paring knife.

In my Ninja I mixed a block of 1/3 less fat cream cheese, 1 tsp of vanilla extract, and 4 tbsp of powdered sugar.

I put the mixture in a zip lock bag  and cut the corner.  I started filling up the strawberries.

I then put them in a smaller container so I could sit them upright.  I then sprinkled crushed graham cracker cookie stuff (I’m not a baker…) on the top of them.

These were the extras that didn’t fit into my other container so I ate them for dinner.  Do not judge me!!  As soon as I wrapped up the other ones and put them in the fridge for tomorrow, my timer beeped for my cornbread.

Two very yummy recipes!  I am excited about going to see my family tomorrow, eating lots of yummy food, and watching the kids hunt Easter eggs.  It’s always a good time!  If my family is reading, please eat my food tomorrow and do not hurt my feelings.  Thanks!

Happy Easter Ya’ll!

Responses

  1. Hilarious as always! Both of those look amazing! I would eat both! Happy Easter sister!


Leave a Reply

Categories

