Posted by: Amanda Taylor | February 5, 2013

My Heart Thanks You

Last year, my heart hurt so bad.  I am so anxious to go to camp this weekend.

Side note: Heart kids rock!

This weekend, last year, I walked into camp needing the peace that it brings me. Little did I know, what it would do.

Image

Side note: Heart kids are really, really awesome.

I was matched with the most amazing, super amazing, lovely, happy, fun, and sweet family.  I felt like I had known the mom for years. I couldn’t get enough of those two sweet girls, but their brother wasn’t too crazy about girl time.  I didn’t want to leave.  I wanted to soak up every single minute of happiness that I found there.

I left camp that weekend with a heart pillow that said “thank you”.  I cherished that pillow more than they could know.  That family came into my life, just when I needed them.

Image

Sometimes, magic happens at camp.  That weekend, it did.  I wonder, how things would have been if I didn’t have camp that weekend.  If I didn’t have them that weekend.  Talk about seeing the face of courage, and gettin’ a dose yourself.

ImageThis weekend, I am heading back.  I’m in a better state of mind this year, but I get teary eyed thinking of how much the Conners’ changed my life last year.  It’s funny how some people are placed in your life, right at the exact moment that you need them the most.

ImageMy purpose there is not to work miracles, but help a child feel safe and happy.  Let them feel hope and joy.  Let them have fun and not be scared to show their badges of courage.  I want them to leave and want to come back to camp.  I want them to leave and have experienced the magic that can happen there.  That weekend, I felt all of those things.  That brave little girl, and her amazing family, did for me what I was to do for them.

I can’t wait to see them.

Image“This joy that I have, the world didn’t give to me.  The world didn’t give it and the world can’t take it away.”

Responses

  1. Tears of joy reading this- God’s timing is perfect. That was truly a magical weekend and a life-changer for all of us. You really are an amazing person and I am so grateful to call you a friend. 🙂 Brenna and Allie are going to be so jealous this weekend when another family gets OUR Amanda!


Leave a Reply

Categories

