Posted by: Amanda Taylor | July 30, 2012

My Dash

Today I went to a celebration of life for Jason’s uncle. I did not know the man personally, but there were several things that were said hat resonated through my heart and left me hoping that one day, I’ll have some of the same things said about me.  I thought I would write a full post about this, however, the more I start thinking of what I want to type the more I think this should probably go in my super secret, no one should see journal.

His family talked about how he was religious, but did not go to church.  His son stated that his father did not need to go to church because of the good he did in life , because it was not about the building or the listening, but how his father lived his life day to day.  They talked about his love, compassion, and caring for others.  They talked about how business was done with a handshake and a good word and not through legal documents.  They talked about how he accepted bread from a baker as payment for the orthodontic work he performed on the man because the man could not afford his bill.  They talked about his love for life and his child like wonder.

No, I don’t go to church.  I do hope that the way I live shows in my spirit and how much love I have to offer others.  I try to bring sunshine to anyone I meet.  I don’t mean that I am overly peppy, but I try to live my life so people do not question my morals, religion, or what type of person I am.  I hope that I leave people with some type of positive, a reason to smile.

Today, I heard a love story.  I have always loved my Mamaw and Papaw’s love story.  My heart started to break thinking about “the end” and how it could be near for them, but I would quickly clear my mind.  Truth is, I can’t imagine them not together.  I can’t imagine one without the other.  At the celebration of life, an email was read that his wife sent out a couple days after her husband passed away.  She talked about holding him and touching his face as she told him goodbye and he took his last breath.  I want that love one day.  I guess everyone dreams of that type of companionship.  I hope that I can find and hold on to that type of love in my life.

I hope I continue to live my life and give all I can to those that need something I have to offer.  I hope that my love inspires someone, just anyone, to be a better person or to know that they are loved.

I thought a lot today about a forwarded email I received years ago.  It’s typed in the front of the journals I have typed for my Papaw.  I guess it is fitting to paste here.

Subject: How Do You Live Your Dash?
I read of a man who stood to speak
At the funeral of a friend.
He referred to the dates on her tombstone
From the beginning….. to the end
He noted he first came to her date of birth
And spoke the following date with tears,
But he said what mattered most of all
Was the dash between those years. (1900 – 1970)

For that dash represents all the time
That she spent alive on this earth…
And now only those who loved her
Know what that little line is worth.
For it matters not, how much we own:
The cars…the house…the cash,
What matters is how we live and love
And how we spend our dash.

So think about this long and hard….
Are there things you’d like to change?
For you never know how much time is left
That can still be rearranged.
If we could just slow down enough
To consider whats true and real,
And always try to understand
The way other people feel.

And be less quick to anger
And show appreciation more
And love the people in our lives
Like we’ve never loved before.
If we treat each other with respect,
And more often wear a smile….
Remembering that this special dash
Might only last a little while.

So when your eulogy’s being read
With your life’s actions to rehash
Would you be proud of the things they say
About how you spent your dash?

Author Linda Ellis

Leave a Reply

Categories

