Posted by: Amanda Taylor | July 22, 2012

Current Events : Colorado Shooting

Straying from my usual blog of my personal life and all of the interesting news I post that people anxiously await, I want to talk about the shooting in Colorado. I tend to stay away from discussing current events, usually because by the time I have time to blog, the current event is well, no long current.  I know most of us don’t want to hear about it anymore, or think about the tragic event that took place, but it’s everywhere.  As I have scrolled through face book the last couple of days, I have noticed several comments that have made me think about “what this world is coming to” as well as what I would do in the first situation.

I saw someone post that they wished the media would not show the picture of James Holmes (the shooter) looking “normal” but instead “show the picture of him with orange hair looking like the total lunatic that he is”.  I actually think it is “okay” that his college photograph is shown.  Think about it…what do you envision when you think of mass murderer or  deranged shooter?

Photo Credit Dailymail.co.uk

Photo Credit – Novinite.com

Most of us think “gothic” “trench coats” “troubled teen” “black clothes”.  As a society, we have created an image of the bad guys being “gothic”. Is it us being naive?  Have we over generalized and become so closed off to thinking that anyone has the capability of harming others or creating such a chaotic and terrible situation?  We warn children of “creepy men in junky vans” and to steer clear of those people with black trench coats and multiple face piercings.  Someone replied to her post that ever normal people can be monsters.  I think we have forgotten that, it was a slap in the face when Ted Bundy was arrested; how a handsome man could do such horrific things.  Maybe it is because of my job and my overly paranoid personality, but I think we need to be cautious in thinking that any situation could potentially be dangerous.  The woman walking behind us in a grocery store could be a “deranged serial killer”, our friendly neighbor could be planning on blowing up the neighborhood.  When we generalize the type of person that is capable of creating such a national tragedy, we ignore the signs from those that may be crying out for help or attention…and then it’s too late.  Even normal people can be monsters.  That is so true.

The second issue that has come up has been “if more people would carry guns…”.  Have you seen this picture?

I am not afraid to state that I don’t like guns.  I don’t want them in my house or in my car while I am driving.  I don’t want to be around them, hold them, or look at them.  They creep me out.  My dad owned guns while I was growing up.  I knew where they were in the house, I knew that I was not to play with them, and I knew about basic gun safety.  Very basic. Really, I just stayed away from them.  I always said that if someone broke into my home and they were going to kill me, I’d just have them shoot me.  I am not going to kill someone.  I don’t think I have the heart or conscience to do that.  I have seen death, it’s not something I want to EVER create.

However, I have thought about this situation.  If I was with a gun totin’ friend, would I have minded he shot the bad guy in the face and hopefully save several people?  I don’t think so.  Would I have shot him to save lots of people?  Maybe… I don’t really know.  I don’t think it is something that we need to be angry about when seeing people post, “That’s why we should carry guns”, however, I think that we need to, yet again, be responsible.  I think too many people carry guns that SHOULD NOT be carrying guns.  I think there is a need for safer gun laws, but then again, why shouldn’t a “normal” doctoral student be able to own a gun?  I really don’t know how I feel about it.  I don’t think there is a right answer.  I am not okay with owning guns.  That shooting was going to happen no matter what.  Unfortunately, there was nothing any of us could do.

I would like to know your thoughts on the subject, however, all I see on facebook are arguments back and forth.  Maybe it’s too soon?  I don’t think we will ever, ever understand.

Leave a Reply

Categories

