Posted by: Amanda Taylor | April 23, 2012

I’m okay

A few weeks ago, I was driving to work and “Little Miss” by Sugarland started playing.

It came to this part

Yeah, sometimes ya gotta lose ’til ya win,
It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright,
It’ll be alright again, it’ll be alright again
I’m okay, It’ll be alright again, I’m okay, It’ll be alright again, I’m okay

I got to the first it’s alright and got a little sad.  As I started singing (awesomely, by the way) I’m okay, I thought of how ridiculous I must look/sound because I had tears running down my face.  I was not okay.  I was not happy.  I was not going to be alright.  This song is stupid.  I dried my face off (there were a lot of tears) and went into work.  I’m not okay.  It’s not going to be alright.

Work ended.  I went home.  I woke up.  Repeat.

Today, somewhere in Georgia, specifically exit 32, Little Miss starts playing again.  I sang the entire song.  I smiled.  I’m okay.

(This picture was actually Friday.  I was smiling just the same today. More on why I was in Georgia next – it deserves its own post!)

I’m okay because the sun has continued to shine on my face every morning.  All the “tomorrows” that I didn’t really want to happen, happened, and I’m okay.  Heck, I’m actually smiling about it.

I’m okay because I have amazing friends and have met amazing friends in the past couple months.  I’m okay because of you. I’m okay because I laughed until my face hurt this weekend.

I’m okay because I am stronger than I think I am.

I pushed repeat and sang it again, just to make sure.

 

Responses

  1. I knew you would be alright, it takes a Lil while to understand why things happen , when the fog clears you start to see why , hope you had as much fun as it sounds like you did! You deserve it!!! Luv Aunt Kitty


Leave a Reply

Categories

