Posted by: Amanda Taylor | November 14, 2010

Two Red Words

Think about the last time you ran.  How far did you get before you were breathing hard and really making your body work?  Now think about the last time you were sitting n the couch.  I bet your breathing was much different.  Imagine if it was the same.  Imagine you were gasping for air and doing nothing but sitting and spending time with family.

I couldn’t imagine.  Many of you know that I volunteer at “the best place on earth” – Camp Boggy Creek.  One of the weekends that I was there was dedicated to heart patients, some of the strongest children I will ever meet.  They are truly amazing.  The first time I was there for heart weekend, I was assigned to a teenage girl.  I ended up taking her and her best friend, Victoria, under my wing that weekend.  It was a great weekend, mostly because they were AWESOME campers.

That was the only time I was able to be there designated PAL because they “aged out” of camp and went on with their life.  That doesn’t mean I didn’t keep in contact.  Unfortunately,  I started to see Vickie posting on facebook that things weren’t going well.  She was having a hard time catching her breath, her pink lips were turning blue again, and she was losing weight.

Victoria got her very first lung transplant on August 20, 2002.  When I met her in 2007, you would have never thought she had a lung transplant.  We ran around camp, danced the night away, and did an awesome rendition of “Summer Love” during the talent show.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t very long after that when Victoria started having problems again.  It’s hard not to ask “Why her?” or “Why ANY child?”  Luckily, Victoria got another transplant on July 4, 2010.  A very special Independence Day, within a few days she was back on facebook to tell her friends and family how good it was to breathe again.  She was doing great and she was so thankful for the donor family.  They gave her another shot.

On November 10, 2010, Victoria posted an update.  It stated, “I have primary graft failure. My latest transplant was not a success. I need a 3rd transplant.”  Tears filled my eyes. I kept reading.  “I will and can’t get any better, I will get worse and worse till I wont be here anymore.”   Thankfully, her records are being sent to Duke University and in the words of this strong girl, “We are not giving up and not taking no for an answer.”

At the end of Victoria’s post she apologized to her donor family.  I know she wanted nothing more than to prove to that family that the donation that they gave her would provide a new life. What are the chances of getting a third lung transplant?  Honestly, I never wanted to be an organ donor for juvenile reasons.  After meeting Victoria, I changed my mind.

Now, there are two very important red words are on my license. Are you an Organ Donor?

Stay strong Vicki!  I love you girl!!!

Responses

  1. Very good blog Amanda. Organ donation is very important…Joe has a friend that has had a kidney and a pancreas transplant….without them he would not be with us today. Thanks for posting this.

  2. I’m glad you posted it, too. It’s always nice to have a reminder to mark organ donation each time we sign up for a new license. When my cousin, Trey, died a few years ago- He saved five lives with his generosity (and available organs)!
    My prayers will be with your friend.

  3. I will be praying for your friend Amanda! Being an organ donor is so important. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. Hey girlie! That was a very moving story. Good for yoU!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

