Posted by: Amanda Taylor | March 9, 2010

The new addition

An empty house is never fun.  I live on the beach and wake up every morning to an incredible view.  I have a job, great family around me, and am learning how to cook for myself, however, things still get lonely.  I decided to get a kitten 🙂  I went Sunday morning and adopted one from the Humane Society.  He came home with me today.

Before going into detail about him, I’d like to take a trip down memory lane with you.  I’ve been though a lot of  cats (kinda scary) whereas some people have their cats for years.   I hope I’m turning over a new leaf with this one.

Our first cat as a family was Smokey.  It belonged to Jennifer and it was “her” cat.  Smokey like sucking on blankets and was a real cuddly cat.  Smokey lived a very long life (12 or 13 years…or maybe even more). Here she is sleeping on my bed 🙂

Before I got my first cat, we had a bunny.  His name was Snoopy.  He lived in a cage outside and got chowed on by a fox.  I didn’t find that out until several years later, though.

My first cat was Creamer.  Thanks, mom, for letting me name that poor animal that.  No wonder it ran away.  I got Creamer from  a teacher and it was my first cat.  He had the batman symbol on his side.  Of course, he was cream colored and white.  I was pretty young, so I don’t remember too much about him but I knew he was “mine”.  One year, when we went to Florida for Christmas he jumped out of our van and we couldn’t find him.  It was a pretty bad Christmas for me that year.

My next cat I got when I was in 5th grade for my birthday.  Mom took me out to some weird building (the vet) and brought out a carrier with a cat in it. I remember, Sierra Johnson was with me that day.  We decided to name him Simba.  Simba had lived on a farm and the owners couldn’t care for him anymore. Simba liked staying outdoors and was very playful. One Spring Break when I came back from Florida, he was foaming out of his mouth.  We took him to the vet and by the time we went in to get a carrier and come back out, he had passed away in the car.

This was the car ride to the vet with Simba.  I was so scared to hold him, but glad I did.

Curled up on momma’s bed with Simba 🙂

A few years went by and mom, dad, and me were at the Flea market in Sweetwater.  At this point, I had given up on cats.  We still had Smokey but I wasn’t actively asking for a cat everyday.  While we were walking around, a scrawny, matted, long haired gray cat walks up to us. I pick him up and could see the ear mites crawling in his ears.  He was missing a front tooth.  Dad said that it was the ugliest and most pitiful thing he had ever seen and that I had to take it home 🙂  When we bathed him and dried him off, we realized how big of a cat he was.  He had huge feet, so we named him Paws.  That cat was amazing. He loved sitting on the side of the tub while I was taking a bath and playing in the water, he would play fetch with small things, and was just a fun and playful cat. He also went to sleep a lot with a little stuffed tigger doll I had.  A few years later, he went missing. About 3 weeks later we went outside and he was in a tree howling.  He went missing again shortly after that.  I don’t want to think about what happened to him, so I just say that someone stole him because he was so beautiful. He was a maine coon cat and one day, when I am rich enough, I will buy one.

A few years later, the summer before I started my 10th grade year we were in Pennsylvania. We went to my mom’s friends house who was trying to get ride of some cats.  We took a cute little black and white kitten.  I named him Oreo.  Oreo is still around all of these years later, even though, I have been gone to Florida and unable to keep him for a majority of those years…  Back in early December, mom brought him down to me.  I was so happy to finally be able to have my cat.  After one week of being trapped inside, I felt horrible and asked mom to take him back.  I felt so guilty.  Oreo likes eating grass and birds and I didn’t want to change his lifestyle too much. Oreo is special.  His tail is bent. My dad was reading an article in a magazine that said cats have bent tails when they are inbred.  Bless his heart.  Also, he drools…a lot.

I think I should have named him Panda.

So that brings me to today.  As I sit here typing this post, I have a two month old kitten licking the spaghetti sauce off of my ravioli.  He’s sneezing all over the place too.  When I went to the Humane Society, I played with several cats.  I picked this one up, looked him in the eye and asked if he wanted to come home with me.  He licked me in the face.  I could only assume that meant, “Yep!”  He also sticks his tongue out when he’s playin’ really hard, which is something my family does.  He just belongs with me.  I am excited to see what the future holds for me and my nameless kitten.  I hope we grow old together, but nonetheless, he just stepped his little white paws in my spaghetti sauce so I have some cleaning to do.

Responses

  1. Whoa. Good ole Smokey and Simba! I remember them. Congrats on the new addition. I hope you can settle on a name soon 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

